Sunnyside is a middle class neighborhood in Western Queens. In the 1800’s French settlers the Bragraw family owned this area which they named Sunnyside Hills Farms. Sunnyside used to be a heavily Irish neighborhood. The many Irish pubs along Queens Boulevard stand as reminder to the area’s roots.
Pictured is the Sunnyside Arch located on Queens Boulevard. The arch is designed in an Art Deco style. In architectural circles it is considered an eyesore, even though it received a $500K renovation in 2009.
In the early 1900’s, Sunnyside was nicknamed “Nuisance Land.”
The History section is in collaboration with Steve Vazquez of Queenscapes.